About the Project

Carbon Risk Management (CARIMA)

‘Carbon Risks‘ and ’Financed Emissions‘ of financial securities and portfolios – quantification, management, and reporting based on capital market data

Climate change is a fact. The awareness for global climate risks of most governments worldwide has already led to various legislation and regulation, which promote the development of the economy towards a “Green Economy”. At the same time, the awareness for environmentally friendly investments of several capital investors increases steadily. Right now, a huge amount of assets is reallocated – from investments in the “Brown Economy” to investments in the “Green Economy”. Both developments have far-reaching and currently hard to predict consequences for the economy and lead to massively changing and ever more volatile assets. An often cited example thereof are “stranded assets”, which even might result in the risk for a financial market bubble, the so-called “carbon bubble”. Therefore, it is of elementary importance for all financial market actors to adequately quantify, manage, and report the opportunities and risks that arise with regard to the transition of the economy towards a “Green Economy”. The Chair of Finance and Banking of the Faculty of Business Administration and Economics of the University of Augsburg undertakes this task since 2015 within the scope of the research area “Carbon Risk Management” (CARIMA). A capital market based procedure is developed that allows for the quantification, management, and reporting of carbon risks for companies and respective financial securities and portfolios. The foundation is build by a Carbon Risk Factor BMG, which mirrors “carbon induced” risks and opportunities for potentially all financial securities and portfolios.

Climate change and its impacts

Climate change is a fact. In recent years, this has been verified by different scientific work. The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) is concerned with the scientific foundation of climate change, its potential impacts, and potential measures for adaptation and damage limitation. The reports of the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd working group of the IPCC affirm that climate change is primarily caused by greenhouse gas emissions (see IPCC (2014)). Those emissions have increased significantly since preindustrial times due to economic and population growth (see IPCC (2014)). The impacts of climate change are manifold and unforeseeable in their appearance and intensity: besides direct financial losses due to extreme physical weather events, such as heat waves, droughts, and hurricanes, there arise indirect financial losses due to the transition of the economy towards a “Green Economy”. Stern (2007) estimates yearly losses to be at least 5 percent of global gross domestic product, if global warming is going to increase by 5 to 6 degrees Celsius by the end of this century.

Worldwide regulatory measures for the containment of climate change

The climate conference in Paris in 2015 and the thereof resulting ratified climate agreement of the participating 195 nations asks for concrete and comprehensive climate protection measures of all countries in the world. By this, it is aimed at limiting the global annual average temperature to less than 2 degrees Celsius above preindustrial levels (2° target) (see UN FCCC (2015)). Governments act in different ways to reach this target. The EU thus established the Emissions Trading Scheme (ETS) (see European Commission (n.d.)), the United States of America passed the Clean Air Act, that regulates air emissions (see EPA (n.d.)). Besides, emissions of power plants should be reduced (Clean Power Plan of the USA, EPA (2016)). The various measures of decarbonization show that the transition process towards a “Green Economy” is in full progress.

Impacts of the decarbonization on the financial world

The transition process of the economy towards a „Green Economy“ has far-reaching consequences for the financial sector. With the decarbonization of the economy result, for example, “stranded assets”, i.e. financial assets which lose significant value due to environmental measures and action in climate policy. The currently still high prices of financial assets lead to the danger of the existence or emergence of a new financial bubble in form of the “carbon bubble” (see Carbon Tracker Initiative (2013)). Furthermore, companies have to take into account that investors pay increasingly attention to the environmental compatibility of their investments (see, e.g., the Portfolio Decarbonization Coalition (PDC), Sullivan/Petrovic/Fischer (2015)). These new trends urge financial market actors to adequately quantify and manage risks induced by climate change for the future. The transition process of the economy affects potentially all companies and corresponding financial assets, such as stocks, credits, corporate bonds, and funds, which eventually finance the CO2-emissions of companies (“financed emissions”).

Research project

Under carbon risks we subsume all financial opportunities and risks for companies and the corresponding financial securities and portfolios, which appear in connection with the transition process of the economy towards a “Green Economy”. Our aim is to develop a capital market based method that makes the quantification, management, and reporting of those carbon risks possible. In this way, among others, the financial impacts should be estimated, which occur if a company sticks to emission-intensive strategies, whereas the economy transforms itself towards a “low carbon economy” (see 2° Investing Initiative (2015)) – and vice versa.

Carbon Risk Factor BMG

We quantify carbon risk with a Carbon Risk Factor “Brown-Minus-Green” (BMG). This factor should support all financial market actors in quantifying, managing, and reporting of carbon risks. The Carbon Risk Factor BMG consists, among others, of CO2-emissions (and equivalents), since they are one of the primary criteria for regulation. Moreover, further indicators for the adaptability of companies to the transition process in the economy are adopted, for example the awareness for climate change, targets for emissions reduction and measures to increase energy efficiency. For the construction of the factor we follow the approach of Fama/French (1993) and Carhart (1997). We build on the fundamentals of nobel laureats in capital markets research, such as the Capital Asset Pricing Model (Sharpe (1964), Lintner (1965) and Mossin (1966)), the Portfolio Selection Theory (Markowitz (1952)) and the Option Pricing Theory (Black/Scholes (1973) and Merton (1973)).

Research and practice

The project CARIMA, sponsored by the German Federal Ministry of  Education and Research, should not only close existing gaps in research. CARIMA should also support potentially all individuals and institutions to face these new economic risks and opportunities properly – and recognize them justly in the first instance, respectively. For this reason, we collaborate with our practice partner, the Verein für Umweltmanagement und Nachhaltigkeit in Finanzinstitutionen e.V. (VfU). We use the dialogue with all areas of the financial industry, regulatory authorities, governments, and rating agencies. By this continuous exchange with the financial practice and by parallel publications in journals we are going to make the concept of the Carbon Risk Factor BMG transparent and open to access, so that all financial market participants can profit from it.

Über das Projekt

Carbon Risk Management (CARIMA)

‘Carbon Risks’ und ‘Financed Emissions’ von Finanztiteln und Portfolios – Quantifizierung, Management und Reporting auf der Basis von Kapitalmarktdaten

Der Klimawandel ist ein Faktum. Das Bewusstsein für globale Klimarisiken der meisten Regierungen der Welt führte inzwischen zu zahlreichen Gesetzen und Regulierungen, die die Entwicklung der Wirtschaft in Richtung einer „Green Economy“ vorgeben. Zugleich wächst bei vielen Kapitalanlegern das Bewusstsein für umweltfreundliche Kapitalanlagen. Aktuell werden riesige Vermögen umgeschichtet – weg von Investitionen in die „Brown Economy“, hin zu Investitionen in die „Green Economy“. Beide Entwicklungen haben weitreichende und aktuell schwer absehbare Folgen für die Wirtschaft und führen zu sich massiv ändernden und immer volatileren Vermögenswerten. Ein viel zitiertes Beispiel hierfür sind „Stranded Assets“, aus denen sogar das Risiko einer Finanzmarktblase resultiert, die „Carbon Bubble“. Daher ist es für alle Finanzmarktakteure von elementarer Bedeutung, die Chancen und Risiken, die mit dem Transformationsprozess der Wirtschaft hin zu einer „Green Economy“ verbunden sind, adäquat zu erfassen, zu managen und zu berichten. Der Lehrstuhl für Finanz- und Bankwirtschaft der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät der Universität Augsburg stellt sich dieser Aufgabe seit 2015 im Rahmen des Forschungsbereichs „Carbon Risk Management“ (CARIMA). Es wird ein kapitalmarktbasiertes Verfahren entwickelt, das die Quantifizierung, das Management und das Reporting von Carbon Risks für Unternehmen und entsprechende Finanztitel und Portfolios ermöglicht. Grundlage ist ein Carbon Risk Factor, der „carboninduzierte“ Risiken und Chancen für potentiell alle Finanztiteln und Portfolios abbilden kann.

Klimawandel und Folgen

Der Klimawandel ist ein Faktum. Dies wurde in letzter Zeit in verschiedenen Arbeiten wissenschaftlich belegt. Der Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) beschäftigt sich mit der wissenschaftlichen Fundierung des Klimawandels, den potentiellen Folgen sowie möglichen Maßnahmen zur Anpassung und Schadensbegrenzung. Die Berichte der 1., 2. und 3. Working Group des IPCC bekräftigen, dass der Klimawandel weitestgehend durch Treibhausgasemissionen getrieben ist (vgl. IPCC (2014)). Diese sind seit vorindustrieller Zeit aufgrund von Wirtschafts- und Bevölkerungswachstum deutlich gestiegen (vgl. IPCC (2014)). Die Folgen des Klimawandels sind vielfältig und unvorhersehbar im Auftreten und ihrer Intensität: neben direkten finanziellen Verlusten durch extreme physikalische Wetterereignisse, wie Hitzewellen, Dürren und Wirbelstürmen, entstehen indirekte finanzielle Verluste durch die Transformation der Wirtschaft in Richtung einer Green Economy. Stern (2007) rechnet mit Verlusten von jährlich mindestens 5 Prozent des globalen Bruttoinlandsproduktes, sollte die globale Erderwärmung auf 5 bis 6 Grad Celsius bis zum Ende des Jahrhunderts steigen.

Weltweite regulatorische Maßnahmen zur Eindämmung des Klimawandels

Die Klimakonferenz in Paris von 2015 und das daraus resultierende ratifizierte Klimaabkommen der 195 teilnehmenden Nationen fordert nun konkrete und umfassende Klimaschutzmaßnahmen aller Länder der Welt. Damit soll erreicht werden, dass die globale Jahresdurchschnittstemperatur gegenüber dem vorindustriellen Zeitalter um weniger als 2 Grad Celsius steigt (2° Ziel) (vgl. UN FCCC (2015)). Regierungen handeln nun in vielfältiger Weise, um dieses 2° Ziel zu realisieren. Die EU etablierte dafür das Emissions Trading System (ETS) (vgl. European Commission (o. J.)), die Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika verabschiedeten den Clean Air Act, der Luftemissionen reguliert (vgl. EPA (o. J.)). Darüber hinaus werden beispielsweise verbindliche Standards für CO2-Emissionen von Automobilen und die Energieeffizienz von Gebäuden gesetzt (European Commission (2016)). Auch Emissionen von Kraftwerken sollen erheblich reduziert werden (Clean Power Plan der USA, EPA (2016)). Die vielfältigen Maßnahmen der Dekarbonisierung zeigen, dass der Transformationsprozess in Richtung einer Green Economy in vollem Gange ist.

Auswirkungen der Dekarbonisierung auf die Finanzwelt

Der Transformationsprozess der Wirtschaft in Richtung einer Green Economy hat weitreichende Folgen für die Finanzwirtschaft. Mit der Dekarbonisierung der Wirtschaft entstehen beispielsweise „Stranded Assets“, d.h. Vermögenswerte, die aufgrund von umwelt- und klimapolitischer Maßnahmen deutlich an Wert verlieren. Die noch hohen Preise dieser Vermögenswerte führen zur Gefahr des Vorliegens oder Entstehens einer neuen Finanzblase in Form der „Carbon Bubble“ (vgl. Carbon Tracker Initiative (2013)). Zudem müssen Unternehmen damit rechnen, dass Investoren vermehrt auf die Umweltverträglichkeit ihrer Investitionen achten (siehe hierzu z.B. die Portfolio Decarbonization Coalition (PDC), Sullivan/Petrovic/Fischer (2015)). Diese neuen Trends drängen Finanzmarktakteure dazu, mit dem Klimawandel verbundene Risiken in Zukunft adäquat zu erfassen und zu managen. Der Transformationsprozess der Wirtschaft betrifft potentiell alle Unternehmen und die korrespondierenden Finanztitel, wie Aktien, Kredite, Corporate Bonds und Fonds, über die die CO2-Emissionen von Unternehmen letztlich finanziert werden („Financed Emissions“).

Forschungsvorhaben

Unter Carbon Risks subsummieren wir alle finanziellen Chancen und Risiken für Unternehmen und die korrespondierenden Finanztitel und Portfolios, die in Verbindung mit dem Transformationsprozess der Wirtschaft in Richtung einer Green Economy auftreten. Ziel ist es, ein kapitalmarktbasiertes Verfahren zu entwickeln, das die Quantifizierung, das Management und das Reporting dieser Carbon Risks ermöglicht. So sollen u.a. die finanziellen Auswirkungen abgeschätzt werden können, die sich ergeben, wenn Unternehmen an emissionsintensiven Strategien festhalten, während sich die Wirtschaft zu einer „Low Carbon Economy“ transformiert (vgl. 2° Investing Initiative (2015)) – und umgekehrt.

Carbon Risk Factor

Das Carbon Risk quantifizieren wir über einen „Carbon Risk Factor (CRF)“. Dieser soll allen Finanzmarktakteuren helfen, Carbon Risks zu erfassen, zu managen und zu reporten. Der Carbon Risk Factor beruht u.a. auf unternehmensindividuellen CO2-Emissionen (und Äquivalenten), da diese ein wesentliches Regulierungskriterium sind. Darüber hinaus werden Indikatoren für die Anpassungsfähigkeit der Unternehmen an den Transformationsprozess der Wirtschaft herangezogen, wie z.B. das Bewusstsein für den Klimawandel, Ziele für eine Emissionsreduktion und Maßnahmen zur Steigerung der Energieeffizienz. Für die Konstruktion des Faktors folgen wir der Logik von Fama/French (1993) und Carhart (1997). Wir bauen auf die mit Nobelpreisen ausgezeichneten Fundamente der Kapitalmarktforschung auf, wie dem Capital Asset Pricing Model (Sharpe (1964), Lintner (1965) und Mossin (1966)), der Portfolio Selection Theory (Markowitz (1952)) und der Option Pricing Theory (Black/Scholes (1973) und Merton (1973)).

Forschung und Praxis

Das Projekt CARIMA, gefördert vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung, soll nicht nur bestehende Lücken in der Forschung schließen. CARIMA soll auch potentiell allen Personen und Institutionen konkret helfen, mit diesen neuartigen wirtschaftlichen Risiken und Chancen richtig umzugehen – bzw. diese erst einmal zu erkennen. Dazu arbeiten wir eng mit unserem Projektpartner zusammen, dem Verein für Umweltmanagement und Nachhaltigkeit in Finanzinstituten e.V. (VFU). Wir nutzen den Dialog mit allen Bereichen der Finanzindustrie, den Aufsichtsbehörden, der Politik sowie den Rating-Agenturen. Durch diesen ständigen Austausch mit der Finanzpraxis und parallelen Publikationen in Fachzeitschriften werden das Konzept und der Carbon Risk Factor transparent und offen zugänglich gemacht, sodass alle Finanzmarktakteure davon profitieren können.